August 4, 2022

2022 Ohio SPJ Awards Winners

COLUMBUS – Ohio’s Best Journalism Contest, (, sponsored by the Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) chapters statewide, is excited to announce its 2022 awards today. View winners here.

The categories include large circulation print (60,000 or greater), small circulation print (fewer than 60,000), radio, television, digital media, trade organizations, freelance and college. 

Best of Show distinctions are awarded in all categories except college. Entries were for work done in 2021. Journalists who work for newspaper, magazines, radio, television, trade, online and college media in Ohio and adjacent states that have significant reach into Ohio were eligible to submit entries, as well as freelance journalists who are Ohio residents, regardless of where their work was published, broadcast or webcast. Entrants did not need to be members of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Ohio’s Best Journalism is the only Ohio competition that honors journalists who fulfill the SPJ mission: defense of the First Amendment, support of literacy, resistance to censorship, advocacy for openness of public records and meetings, media self-criticism and community service. 

Journalists from the Long Island Press Club served as judges.


The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire current and future journalists through professional development; and advocates for the protection of the First Amendment guarantee of freedom of speech and press.

Nationally, SPJ improves and protects journalism through national and local training; advocacy for freedom of Information and resources; its Code of Ethics that encourages responsible reporting; a website filled with career resources –; and a national recognition program for excellence in journalism.